Thursday, August 11, 2011
Did anyone else feel stupid in college?
I certainly did. My high school did not prepare me well for college. I really didn't know how to take notes, how to budget my time effectively, how to do research or how to speak in front of a group. My high school cles were taught more in a challenging question-and-answer format, which prepared me to defend my ideas, but I really wasn't prepared for the lecture format used in college. I learned to write well, which was enormously helpful, but I had to learn the rest at college so I felt like I was always playing catch-up. Many of my clmates were from affluent suburban high schools, so they were well-prepared for college. You have to remember that the academic elite go on to college, so the quality of your college clmates is generally going to be higher than the quality of your high school clmates.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment